Members and Officers of College Board

Chair Person  
Mr Michael Morgan (SAC 1973)

Michael Morgan is an Old Boy of the College (SAC 1973), an architect and a father of two daughters and a son Paddy who graduated from St Aloysius’ College in 2012. In his time Michael has served as College Captain, President of P&F and Chairman of the Rugby Committee. Michael is Managing Director of nettletontribe where he has worked since 1979; he is a Senior Counsellor and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects. Michael is Chairman of the Advisory Committee for MacKillop Grange Retirement Village, a position he has held since completing its development in 2005. Michael also serves on a number of Advisory Committees including, the Aged Care Advisory Committee for the Archdiocese of Sydney, The Cardoner Project and Jesuit Social Services.

Deputy Chair
Mr David Wunder (SAC 1970)

David Wunder is a Civil Engineer with 40 years’ experience in the building and engineering construction and consulting industries across both the public and private sectors. He is an Old Boy of the St Aloysius’ College (SAC 1970) and a father of two, including a recent Old Boy.

Fr Andrew Bullen SJ (SAC 1966)

Fr Andy Bullen SJ, is the Parish Priest of the Parishes of Our Lady of the Way, North Sydney and Lavender Bay/Kirribilli. He commenced this role in November 2013 prior to this Fr Andy was Socius to the Provincial of the Australian Jesuits. He is an Old Boy of the College (SAC 1965). His brother and nephew also attended the College. Fr Bullen has worked at Xavier College, Melbourne and Saint Ignatius’ College, Riverview where he served as Rector from 2003 to 2011.

Mr Phil de Gail

Phil de Gail is an old boy of Christian Brothers College Manly (later St. Paul’s). He was school captain and graduated in 1967. He is father of two old boys, Peter (SAC 2002) and Michael (SAC 2010). He completed a part time degree in Building at the University of New South Wales graduating in 1975 and spent the first 15 years of his career working mainly on large city projects before founding Prime Constructions in 1983. He remains Executive Chairman of the Company. He developed a keen interest in water polo as a St. Aloysius’ parent and has been President of the UNSW Wests Water Polo Club for 12 years.

Mr Peter Dwyer (SAC 1955)

A College Old Boy (SAC 1955), Peter qualified first, in Pharmacy at Sydney University and practised in Sydney and in London. He later studied Law and was admitted to the NSW Bar in 1978. He was a foundation member of Maurice Byers Chambers, Sydney. His practice has included a significant interest in Health Law including especially, Pharmaceuticals. He was the former Chair of the NSW Pharmacy Tribunal and Deputy Chair of nine other NSW health professional disciplinary tribunals; and a former Principal Member of the NSW Civil & Administrative Tribunal, Health Professions division. He also practices as a nationally accredited Mediator including appointments as a mediator, to NSW courts and to the NSW Dust Diseases Tribunal. He is a Member of the Board of NSW Justice Health & Forensic Mental Health Network. He joined the College Council in 2014.

Mr Mark Johnson (SAC 1976)

Mark Johnson is an Old Boy of the College (SAC 1976). He graduated from the University of New South Wales with a Bachelor of Commerce and qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1982. Mark completed his term as CEO and Senior Partner for Australia for Price Waterhouse Coopers (PWC) in 2012 after a career spanning more than 30 years with that firm and its predecessors. He was also Deputy Chairman for Asia and a member of its Global leadership. He is now a company director and advisor serving on the boards of Westfield Corporation, Coca-Cola Amatil, G8 Education, the Hospital Contributions Fund of Australia (HCF) and The Smith Family. Mark is also a director of a number of private businesses. Mark is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Mr Michael Lawson (SAC 1989)

Michael Lawson is an Old Boy of the College (SAC 1989). After leaving the College he graduated from the University of New South Wales with a Bachelor of Commerce and a Bachelor of Law and then as a post graduate he graduated from Sydney University with a Master of Law.  Michael is a practising solicitor with over 15 years’ experience. Michael is currently a Partner at law firm Minter Ellison where he advises clients on corporate matters.  Michael has a broad range of legal experience, including seven years working in London.

Dr Frank Malloy

Frank Malloy is a Riverview Old Boy (OR'81), whose family has a long association with the Jesuits and the Loreto sisters. Frank has worked in Catholic education for the past 34 years as a teacher, secondary Principal of three schools, a Regional Director for Sydney Catholic Schools and Marist Schools Australia. Currently, the National Director of Marist Schools Australia, Frank has worked with leaders of Catholic schools throughout Australia and in a number of developing countries. He has recently completed doctoral research on "The use of NAPLAN data in Catholic schools" by school leaders and teachers through the Australian Catholic University. Experience in governance of Catholic schools includes as a member of the Sydney Archdiocesan Catholic Schools Boards for two terms, a member of the Loreto Kirribilli School Council for 10 years, and currently as a Director of Loreto Ministries Ltd. Frank is a member of Saint Michael's Parish, Lane Cove.

Mrs Elizabeth Montano

Elizabeth Montano is an experienced non-executive chairman/director and governance, risk and assurance professional. She is a former Chief Executive in the Commonwealth public sector and financial services consultant and senior lawyer with King & Wood Mallesons. Elizabeth obtained her Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws degrees from the University of New South Wales and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. In addition to her senior executive experience, Elizabeth has an extensive non-executive background in regulation, financial intelligence, natural resources management, scientific research and human services delivery. Elizabeth is a past President of the St Ignatius College, Riverview P&F and has a number of not for profit roles including an executive position on a Rural Fire Brigade and on an advisory committee for Jesuit Social Services.

Ms Katie Newton-John

Katie Newton-John is a practising lawyer and governance professional with over 17 years’ experience in private practice and in-house roles, including the ASX listed environment and Government sector. Katie completed her law degree at University College London, has a Graduate Diploma of Applied Corporate Governance from the Governance Institute of Australia and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Katie is currently the General Counsel and Company Secretary of WSA Co (the company responsible for building the Western Sydney Airport), where she advises on commercial, corporate and governance matters.

Dr Kate O'Brien

Dr Kate O'Brien is currently Assistant Director: System Improvement for Sydney Catholic Schools. Kate has been a teacher and primary school principal in Catholic schools across three dioceses for over thirty years. She writes extensively on how schools attend to authentic learning and leading and has published five texts for teachers on Catholic pedagogy and higher order thinking strategies.  Her current role focuses on system and school improvement and includes monitoring and evaluation of system strategic planning and system-wide project methodology.

Officers of the Board
Chair of Jesuit Education Australia (JEA) Rev Fr Tom Renshaw SJ
Principal Mr Mark Tannock
Rector Fr Ross Jones SJ
Company Secretary Mr David Green